Frequent question: Who are the premiers of the 9 provinces in South Africa?

Premier Province Current mandate began
David Makhura Gauteng 2019 Election
Sihle Zikalala KwaZulu-Natal 2019 Election
Stanley Mathabatha Limpopo 2019 Election
Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane Mpumalanga 2019 Election

Who are the premiers of each province in South Africa?

As of May 2019 the nine Premiers are:

  • Premier of the Eastern Cape: Oscar Mabuyane (ANC)
  • Premier of the Free State: Sisi Ntombela (ANC)
  • Premier of Gauteng: David Makhura (ANC)
  • Premier of KwaZulu-Natal: Sihle Zikalala (ANC)
  • Premier of Limpopo: Stanley Mathabatha (ANC)
  • Premier of Mpumalanga: Refilwe Mtsweni-Tsipane (ANC)

What are the names of the 9 provinces in South Africa?

South Africa’s nine provinces are the Eastern Cape, the Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, the Northern Cape, North West and the Western Cape.

What are the 9 provinces?

The provinces, are:

  • Eastern Cape.
  • Free State.
  • Gauteng.
  • KwaZulu-Natal.
  • Limpopo.
  • Mpumalanga.
  • Northern Cape.
  • North West.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How can a Nigerian go to South Africa?

Who are members of the provincial executive members?

The executive consists of the President, the Deputy President and the Cabinet ministers at national level, and the Premier and Members of the Executive Councils (MECs) at provincial level. It also includes government departments and civil servants.

Who is the prime of Limpopo?

The current Premier of Limpopo is Stanley Mathabatha, a member of the African National Congress, who was appointed in July 2013.

Premier of Limpopo
Incumbent Stanley Mathabatha since 18 July 2013
Style The Honourable
Appointer Limpopo Legislature
Term length Five years, renewable once

What is the head of a province called?

In Canada, a premier is the head of government of a province or territory. Though the word is merely a synonym for prime minister, it is employed for provincial prime ministers to differentiate them from the Prime Minister of Canada. There are currently ten provincial premiers and three territorial premiers.

Which is richest province in South Africa?

Gauteng is the richest province in South Africa, and that is perhaps the reason why it is the most populous in the country.

Which is the poorest province in South Africa?

South Africa’s poorest province is the Eastern Cape. The wealthiest province is Gauteng. Around 880,000 of the mostly rural Eastern Cape’s people live in poverty.

Which is the best province in South Africa?

List of South African provinces by Human Development Index

Rank Province HDI (2018)
High human development
1 Western Cape 0.741
2 Gauteng 0.726
3 Free State 0.705

What language is spoken in Free State South Africa?

Free State:

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why was 10th May a red letter day in the history of South Africa?

Principal languages spoken in the Free State include Sesotho (64,2%), Afrikaans (12,2%) and isiXhosa (7,5%).

Which is the most beautiful province in South Africa?

Arguably the most beautiful province in South Africa and certainly the greenest, KwaZulu-Natal is a land of diverse experiences. Stroll Durban’s beaches, visit Mandela’s monuments and even embark on safari all in one place.

What is the cleanest city in South Africa?

The City of Cape Town has been declared the cleanest city in South Africa, winning the Metro Category of the Department of Environmental Affairs and Tourism’s Annual Cleanest Town/Cleanest Metro 2006/2007 awards at a prestigious ceremony in Gauteng on Thursday, 22 March.

Are bureaucrats part of executive?

These two definitions make it clear that executive includes the political executive (Ministers and Head of State) and the non-political permanent executive (Civil Service or Bureaucracy). … The permanent executive i.e. bureaucracy/civil service runs the day-to- day administration and works in government departments.

Who is the head of the Cabinet?

The Cabinet Secretariat functions directly under the Prime Minister. The administrative head of the Secretariat is the Cabinet Secretary who is also the ex-officio Chairman of the Civil Services Board.

What does MEC mean in South Africa?

In South Africa, the Executive Council of a province is the cabinet of the provincial government. The Executive Council consists of the Premier and five to ten other members, who have the title “Member of the Executive Council”, commonly abbreviated to “MEC”.

Hai Afrika!