How many countries are in East African Community?

The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organisation composed of six countries in the African Great Lakes region in eastern Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Which countries make up the East African Community?

The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organization of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania with its Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

How many countries make East Africa?

The UN subregion of East Africa consists of 20 countries in the eastern part of the continent. These countries include some of the poorest nations in the world situated in the Horn of Africa and Great Lakes regions.

When did Rwanda and Burundi join EAC?

1 July 2009: Rwanda and Burundi join the EAC Customs Union. Official launch ceremonies held simultaneously in the two countries’ capitals on 6 July 2009.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why do people hunt in South Africa?

Is Ethiopia part of EAC?

Ethiopia has not applied to join to the EAC Secretariat in Arusha. It has done so through a chequebook exchange with Kenya. To all intents and purposes, Ethiopia has already become a member of the EAC.

Which country has the largest economy in Africa 2019?

The Largest Economies in Africa by GDP, 2019

  • Nigeria. With an estimated population of 200 million, the West African country boast of $376.284bn in GDP, making Nigeria the highest GDP in Africa. …
  • South Africa. With a GDP of $349.299bn, South Africa is the second largest economy in the continent. …
  • Egypt. …
  • Algeria. …
  • Angola. …
  • Morocco.


Why the East African Community collapsed?

In 1977, the East African Community collapsed due to Kenya requesting more seats in the decision-making organs, disagreements between member countries, and the different economic systems between countries, primarily between Tanzania and Kenya.

What is the richest country in East Africa?

10 | TANZANIA (GDP: $62,224 Billion)

Rank Country GDP Per Capita (International Dollar)
1 Equatorial Guinea 34,865
2 Seychelles 28,712
3 Mauritius 21,628
4 Gabon 19,266

Which is the largest tribe in East Africa?

The Kikuyu are the largest tribe in Kenya. Their mythology begins with the Supreme Creator, Ngai, leaving heaven for the snowy summit of Mount Kenya, where he made Gikuyu: father of the Kikuyu people.

What is the capital of East Africa?

List of capital cities

City Country Area
Nairobi Kenya East African Community
Ngozi Burundi Southeast Africa
Omdurman Sudan Nile Valley
Port Louis Mauritius Indian Ocean islands

Who is the current Speaker of East African Community?

East African Community

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is mutton so expensive in South Africa?
show East African Community
• EALA Speaker Martin Ngoga
• Secretary General Peter Mathuki
Legislature Legislative Assembly

Why did Rwanda and Burundi join East African Community?

Rwanda and Burundi have been officially admitted into the East African Community, which was originally made up of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda. The newcomers were previously regarded as part of the central African bloc, and some say the move toward the east was made for mainly economic and political reasons.

What are the benefits of East African Community?

Benefits of the EAC Integration

  • A wider market with a combined population of over 160million people and GDP of about US$170billion.
  • Freedoms under Common Market.
  • Safeguarding the region from international economic shocks.
  • A Common External Tariff in place to protect the community’s domestic industries.


Is East Africa dangerous?

While there are significant risks in some areas of East Africa, most places are extremely safe. … Never travel East Africa’s roads by night when the region’s poor road-safety record gets worse. Banditry can be a concern in northeastern Kenya, northeastern Uganda and rural Burundi.

Is South Sudan part of the East African Community?

South Sudan joined the East African Community in April 2016. South Sudan is the newest member of the East African Community, it is also referred to as the youngest nation in Africa after gaining independence on 9 July 2011.

When was EAC formed?


Hai Afrika!