What are government departments in South Africa?

What is the different government departments?

The Western Cape Government

Department of Agriculture. Department of Community Safety. Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport. Department of Economic Development and Tourism.

How many departments are in the government?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the …

What are the three national government departments?

National Government Directory: National Government Departments

  • Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development [ Department of ]
  • Basic Education [ Department of ]
  • Civilian Secretariat for Police Service.
  • Communications and Digital Technologies [Department of ]
  • Cooperative Governance [ Department of ]
  • Correctional Services [ Department of ]
  • Defence [ Department of ]

What is Government Dept?

government department in British English

(ˈɡʌvənmənt dɪˈpɑːtmənt) a sector of a national or state government that deals with a particular area of interest. Contact the relevant government department – in the UK the Home Office, in the US the Department of Health – as well as your local authority or state department.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What connects Africa to the Middle East?

What are the roles of government departments?

Definition of functions and government departments

  • Department of Health. The Department of Health administers health and social care services. …
  • Department for Education. …
  • Ministry of Defence. …
  • Cabinet Office. …
  • Department for Communities and Local Government. …
  • Department for Work & Pensions. …
  • Department for Transport. …
  • Department for International Development.


What is a directorate in government?

Wiktionary. directorate(Noun) An agency headed by a director, usually a subdivision of a major government department.

What is the highest government department?

Top 5 biggest federal agencies

  1. Department of Defense.
  2. Postal Service. …
  3. Department of Veterans Affairs. …
  4. Department of Homeland Security. DHS had at least 186,400 full-time equivalent employees in 2018.
  5. Department of Justice. The Justice Department had approximately 113,000 full-time equivalent workers in 2018, down from 118,200 in 2017.


What is the difference between a department and an agency?

What is the difference between a department, an administration, an agency, an authority, and a commission? Departments are the largest organizations within the federal bureaucracy. … A minority of the agencies are independent; that is, they do not fall under any of the executive departments.

What is the smallest department in the US government?

The DoED is a cabinet-level department of the U.S. government residing over education, administered by the Secretary of Education. It is by far the smallest Cabinet-level department, with about 5,000 employees.

What are the 5 departments of government?

Executive Departments

  • U.S. Department of Agriculture.
  • U.S. Department of Commerce.
  • U.S. Department of Defense.
  • U.S. Department of Education.
  • U.S. Department of Energy.
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Why are there Indian people in South Africa?


How many government ministries do we have in South Africa?

The President announced a cabinet reshuffle on 22 November 2018, following the death of Minister Edna Molewa and the resignation of Malusi Gigaba. On 29 May 2019, following the 2019 general election, President Ramaphosa announced a new cabinet in which the number of ministers was reduced from 36 to 28.

Which government department is responsible for ECP?

Early Childhood Development programme: Department of Social Development, National Development Agency & SALGA briefing.

Are police departments government?

Peel’s Metropolitan Police Act 1829 established a full-time, professional and centrally-organised police force for the greater London area known as the Metropolitan Police. … Hence, Peel’s most often quoted principle that “The police are the public and the public are the police.”

Which department comes under which ministry?

For example, the Ministry of Communications has two departments – the Department of Telecommunications and Department of Posts.

List of Union Government Ministries.

Ministry name Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare
Established 1947
Minister responsible Narendra Singh Tomar
Minister rank Cabinet
Hai Afrika!