What are the Department of South Africa?

Minister Department Previous name(s)
Minister of Police Independent Police Investigative Directorate Independent Complaints Directorate
Civilian Secretariat for the Police Service Department of Safety and Security

What are the different departments in South Africa?

National Departments

Name Cluster
Department of Correctional Services (DCS) Justice & Protection Services
Department of Defence (DoD) Justice & Protection Services
Department of Employment and Labour (DEL) Social Services
Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment (DFFE) Economic Services & Infrastructure Development

What is the different government departments?

The Western Cape Government

Department of Agriculture. Department of Community Safety. Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport. Department of Economic Development and Tourism.

What other departments are there?

Executive Departments

  • U.S. Department of Agriculture.
  • U.S. Department of Commerce.
  • U.S. Department of Defense.
  • U.S. Department of Education.
  • U.S. Department of Energy.
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the two largest religions in Africa?


How many departments does the government have?

The Federal Government is broken down into fifteen departments, each of which consists of a number of sub-departments and organizational groups tasked with accomplishing the Department’s overall goals.

How many ministries does South Africa have?

Members of the current cabinet

On 29 May 2019, following the 2019 general election, President Ramaphosa announced a new cabinet in which the number of ministers was reduced from 36 to 28.

What are the three national government departments?

National Government Directory: National Government Departments

  • Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development [ Department of ]
  • Basic Education [ Department of ]
  • Civilian Secretariat for Police Service.
  • Communications and Digital Technologies [Department of ]
  • Cooperative Governance [ Department of ]
  • Correctional Services [ Department of ]
  • Defence [ Department of ]

What are the 15 departments of government?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the …

What is national government South Africa?

The National Government of South Africa is comprised of Parliament, Cabinet and various Departments. These components carry out functions as outlined in the Constitution and in legislation enacted by Parliament. The National Government Departments. The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa.

What is meant by department?

1. a specialized division of a large concern, such as a business, store, or university. the geography department. 2. a major subdivision or branch of the administration of a government.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Is studying law hard in South Africa?

What is the difference between a department and an agency?

What is the difference between a department, an administration, an agency, an authority, and a commission? Departments are the largest organizations within the federal bureaucracy. … A minority of the agencies are independent; that is, they do not fall under any of the executive departments.

What government agency has the most authority?

So the winner is the The United States Department of Justice. They have overwhelming jurisdiction across the entire 50 States…and then some. The Law Enforcement Agencies attached to the DOJ are the DEA, the FBI, the U.S. Marshals, Homeland Security and a few others.

What agencies fall under the State Department?

  • The Secretary of State. The Secretary of State. …
  • Deputy Secretaries of State. Deputy Secretary of State. …
  • Arms Control and International Security.
  • Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights. Bureau of Counterterrorism. …
  • Economic Growth, Energy, and Environment.
  • Management. …
  • Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs.

What is the highest government department?

Top 5 biggest federal agencies

  1. Department of Defense.
  2. Postal Service. …
  3. Department of Veterans Affairs. …
  4. Department of Homeland Security. DHS had at least 186,400 full-time equivalent employees in 2018.
  5. Department of Justice. The Justice Department had approximately 113,000 full-time equivalent workers in 2018, down from 118,200 in 2017.


Which cabinet department has the highest number of employees?

With more than 240,000 employees, DHS is the third-largest Cabinet department, after the Departments of Defense and Veterans Affairs. Homeland security policy is coordinated at the White House by the Homeland Security Council.

United States Department of Homeland Security.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much is a galaxy S9 plus in South Africa?
Agency overview
Website www.dhs.gov
“The DHS March”

What is the smallest department in the US government?

The DoED is a cabinet-level department of the U.S. government residing over education, administered by the Secretary of Education. It is by far the smallest Cabinet-level department, with about 5,000 employees.

Hai Afrika!