What is the South African equivalent to A levels?

A-Levels are equivalent to the National Senior Certificate (NTC) in South Africa, and are required for entry in to university.

Is a South African matric equal to the UK A Levels?

This page serves to help South Africans understand the UK’s recognition of their SA qualifications.

National Qualification Framework.

RQF Level (UK) NQF Level (SA) Qualification Level
2 4 National Certificate (Matric) / GCSE A, B, C
3 5 Higher National Certificate / A Levels A, B, C, D, E
4 6 Diploma

What qualifications are equal to a level?

There are three main types: BTEC Firsts (a Level 2 qualification), BTEC Nationals (a Level 3 qualification) and BTEC Higher Nationals (a Level 5 qualification). BTEC Nationals are the ones that are equivalent to A-levels, recommended for those who have achieved at least four A*-C grades at GCSE.

Is NSC equivalent to A levels?

A levels are undoubtedly a big step up from NSC. Here is a useful way of considering the conversion. Within South Africa, AS levels are considered to be equivalent to the NSC. … The full A-level qualification is significantly more in-depth than the NSC syllabus, and is more comparable to South African first year syllabi.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who was the main force behind the colonization of Central Africa?

What is equivalent to matric in South Africa?

What is the Equivalent of a NQF Level 4? A NQF level 4 is a matric certificate qualification. You could earn your matric certificate by completing your matric final exams. If you can’t complete your matric, there are national and FET certificates equivalent to it.

What is the next step after A levels?

After A Levels many students continue with their education by: attending Higher Education to do a degree, Foundation Degree, HND/HNC, etc. starting an Advanced, Higher or Degree Apprenticeship. applying for employment with training.

What is matric called in UK?

Bangladesh, like the rest of Indian sub-continent, still uses terms such as Matriculation Exams and Intermediate Exams taken from the days of the British Raj although in England itself these terms were replaced by ‘O’ or Ordinary Level Examinations (now called GCSEs) and ‘A’ or Advanced Level Examinations respectively.

Can you go to uni without A levels?

Although A Levels are primarily for those seeking to get into university, yes it is possible to get to university without A levels and qualify for a university course. An Access to Higher Education (Access to HE) course is a flexible way of getting into university and suits those who are returning to education.

How important are A levels to employers?

A-levels remain absolutely crucial, especially in terms of entry to university. However, it is not just about passing exams. Most employers would say that academic qualifications are not necessarily the best measure of potential, factors like character and personality are just as important.

What level is a diploma?

Qualification levels

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why do diseases spread in Africa?
RQF/CQFW Example qualification
5 Higher National Diploma
4 Higher National Certificate
3 A-level, National Diploma
2 GCSE (grades A*–C)

Is D in a Level A pass?

An E or D is still a pass at A-level, but it will result in lower Ucas points than a better grade. A pass is indicated by one of the five grades, A, B, C, D or E, where A (and A*) is the highest and E is the lowest.

Is IEB better than NSC?

The biggest difference between the IEB and NSC is that the IEB focuses on preparing students for life abroad. Most people wonder which qualification between the IEB and NSC is better. This solely depends on your personal needs and what you as a student are capable of.

Is NQF level 4 the same as matric?

An NQF Level 4 is basically a matric qualification, which is your National Senior Certificate (NSC). You can achieve it after successfully completing grade 12. … It is a qualification awarded to students who completed their grade 10 to 12 at a TVET college.

Is N3 and matric the same?

N3 certificate equivalent to Matric is issued by the regulatory body Umalusi for more information click here and exams are conducted by the Department of Higher Education and Training. … With N3 certificate equivalent to Matric it makes it then relevant as an alternative to those who cannot do the normal Matric.

What is a matric exemption in South Africa?

A matriculation exemption is a legal requirement for the first-degree study at a South African university. Students who did not pass Senior Certificate with endorsement are required by law to apply for a matriculation exemption through the Matriculation Board.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How did African kings use Muslims and Islam?

What is NQF level 6 equivalent to in SA?

Which qualifications represent which NQF levels?

Qualification NQF Level
Higher Certificate 5
Diploma & Advanced Certificate 6
Bachelor’s Degree & Advanced Diploma 7
Honours Degree & Postgraduate Diploma 8
Hai Afrika!