Who is the first chairman of the African Union?

The African Union was launched in Durban on 9 July 2002, by its first chairperson, South African Thabo Mbeki, at the first session of the Assembly of the African Union.

Who is the current chairman of the African Union?

The Chairperson of the African Union is the ceremonial head of the African Union elected by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government for a one-year term.

Chairperson of the African Union
Incumbent Félix Tshisekedi since 6 February 2021
Appointer the Assembly
Term length One year
Inaugural holder Thabo Mbeki

Who is the founder of African Union?

Муаммар Каддафи

When was elected chairman of OAU?

South Africa’s Dlamini-Zuma Elected as Chairperson of African Union Commission. African leaders elected Mrs Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma as chairperson of the African Union Commission at the 19th African Union Summit in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on 15 July.

Who is the current secretary general of African Union 2020?

Antonio Guteres, Secretary General of the United Nations | African Union.

IT IS INTERESTING:  When was the African American Museum opened?

Who is the current AU commissioner?

Heading the African Union Commission (AUC) is Mr Moussa Faki Mahamat (Chad, Central Region) who was resoundingly re- elected by 51 of the 55 member states. The Chairperson of the AUC is the Chief Executive Officer, legal representative of the AU and the Commission’s Chief Accounting Officer.

Which country is not a member of African Union?

Morocco withdrew from the OAU in 1984 following the organization’s acceptance of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic as a member state. Morocco rules over most of the territory, but sovereignty is disputed.

How old is the African Union?

The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999).

What was the African Union formerly called?

African Union (AU), formerly (1963–2002) Organization of African Unity, intergovernmental organization, established in 2002, to promote unity and solidarity of African states, to spur economic development, and to promote international cooperation. The African Union (AU) replaced the Organization of African Unity (OAU).

Who is the leader of Africa?

Cyril Ramaphosa

His Excellency Cyril Ramaphosa
Succeeded by Felix Tshisekedi
14th President of the African National Congress
Assumed office 18 December 2017

When was AU founded?

July 9, 2002, Durban, South Africa

Who is the secretary general of AfCFTA?

Addis Ababa, 12 January 2021, ECA – Africa’s journey to market integration has begun in earnest with the commencement of trading under the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) on 1 January, Secretary General Wamkele Mene, said today.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Is Africa Day celebrated in Ghana?

Who is the current executive secretary general of Ecowas?

Mohammed Ibn Chambers is the current Executive Secretary of the ECOWAS.

Who is the first secretary general of AU?

The Secretary General was head of the Secretariat of the Organisation of African Unity.


No. 1
Chairperson Kifle Wodajo
Took Office 25 May 1963
Left Office 21 July 1964
Country Ethiopia
Hai Afrika!