Your question: How many sovereign countries are in Africa?

48 countries share the area of mainland Africa, plus six island nations are considered to be part of the continent. All in all, there are 54 sovereign African countries and two disputed areas, namely Somaliland and Western Sahara (see the list of African countries below).

Does Africa have 54 sovereign countries?

There are 54 sovereign states (or countries) in Africa – see the list below the map. 55 African countries, 54 sovereign African states plus the territory of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, are members of the African Union, a federation of African nations established in 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Are there 57 countries in Africa?

In sum, then, the current total of de facto African countries is at least 57, which includes the unproblematic 53 plus Sahrawi, Somaliland, Puntland, and South Sudan. Of these, Sahrawi enjoyes international recognition and South Sudan is likely to do so soon.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is Johannesburg the richest city in South Africa?

How many sovereign countries are there?

List of all Sovereign Nations and their Capital Cities. Since South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011, there are now 195 independent sovereign states in the world (including de facto independent Taiwan).

Which continent has the most sovereign countries?

Which Continent Has the Most Countries?

  • Africa has the largest number of countries and territories of the world continents. …
  • Eastern Africa is the region that occupies the Eastern end of the African continent. …
  • Western Africa is made up of 16 Sovereign countries and the British overseas territory of Saint Helena, Ascension, and Tristan da Cunha.


What is the richest country in Africa?

Nigeria is the richest and most populous country in Africa. The country’s large population of 211 million is a likely contributor to its large GDP. Nigeria is a middle-income, mixed economy and emerging market with growing financial, service, communications, and technology sectors.

Why is Africa divided?

This conference was called by German Chancellor Bismarck to settle how European countries would claim colonial land in Africa and to avoid a war among European nations over African territory. … All the major European States were invited to the conference.

Are there 54 or 55 countries in Africa?

Africa is a beautiful continent with 54 countries, according to the United Nations, and 55, according to the African Union. UN and AU disagree over one country: The Western Sahara, also known as Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR).

# 54
Country Seychelles
Population (2019) 97,739
Subregion Eastern Africa
IT IS INTERESTING:  Is lobola a marriage in South Africa?

Are there 53 or 54 countries in Africa?

Africa contains 54 countries, 3 dependencies, and one disputed territory. Nigeria is Africa’s most populous country, with a population of over 206 million. St.

What is the capital of Africa?

The least populous capital city in Africa is Maseru in Lesotho, with a population of 14,000. The least populous capital city in Africa is Maseru in Lesotho, with a population of 14,000.

Zimbabwe – Harare.

Country Capital
Seychelles Victoria
Sierra Leone Freetown
Somalia Mogadishu
South Africa Pretoria

Which country is a smallest country in the world?

Based on landmass, Vatican City is the smallest country in the world, measuring just 0.2 square miles, almost 120 times smaller than the island of Manhattan. Situated on the western bank of the Tiber River, Vatican City’s 2-mile border is landlocked by Italy.

Which was the richest country in the world?

The Briefing

  • The richest country in the world is Luxembourg with a GDP per capita of over $109,000.
  • The world’s 25 richest countries are located across North America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania.


How many states are there in the world in 2020?

This total comprises 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations and 2 countries that are non-member observer states: the Holy See and the State of Palestine.

List of countries.

# 3
Country United States
Population (2020) 331,002,651
World Share 4.2 %
Land Area (Km²) 9,147,420

Which country is a dependent territory?

A subnational entity typically represents a division of the country proper, while a dependent territory is a legally separate territory that enjoys a greater degree of autonomy. As an example, Greenland is a dependent territory of Denmark, and Saint Helena is a dependent territory of the United Kingdom.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: Does Remitly work in South Africa?

Which country has the most territory?

Top 100 largest countries by area

Rank Country Continent
1 Russia Asia / Europe
2 Canada North America
3 United States (incl. overseas territories) North America
4 China Asia

What is the difference between a country and a territory?

As nouns the difference between country and territory

is that country is (label) an area of land; a district, region while territory is a large extent or tract of land; a region; a country; a district.

Hai Afrika!