Your question: What is GCSE equivalent in South Africa?

What are GCSEs called in South Africa?

This page serves to help South Africans understand the UK’s recognition of their SA qualifications.

National Qualification Framework.

RQF Level (UK) NQF Level (SA) Qualification Level
1 General Certificate
2 Elementary Certificate
1 3 Intermediate Certificate / GCSE D, E, F, G
2 4 National Certificate (Matric) / GCSE A, B, C

What is the equivalent of A levels in South Africa?

A-Levels are equivalent to the National Senior Certificate (NTC) in South Africa, and are required for entry in to university.

Is GCSE equal to matric?

Matric covers a broad range of subjects like GCSEs do in the UK, which we write at 16. Matric is written at 18 and probably to a slightly higher standard than GCSE level but definitely below the A-Level exams we do at 18, when normally we only do 3-4 subjects.

What qualifications are equivalent to GCSE?

A level 2 qualification is similar to having a GCSE at grade A*–C or 4-9.

Level 2

  • NVQ level 2.
  • GNVQ Intermediate.
  • Key skills level 2.
  • Functional Skills level 2.
  • QCF level 2.
  • RQF level 2.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Can South Africa be hit by a tsunami?

What grade is Year 9 in South Africa?

A Guide to South African School Grades in Comparison to the Wolsey Hall Courses

South African School Grade Wolsey Hall Equivalent Course Level
Grade 7 Primary Year 6
Grade 8/9 Secondary Year 7
Grade 9/10 Secondary Year 8
Grade 10/11 Secondary Year 9

What grade is a 7 year old in South Africa?

Children usually start Grade 1 in the year in which they turn seven. Children who will be turning six during the year can start school if they are shown to be ready for school.

Can I go to uni without A levels?

Although A Levels are primarily for those seeking to get into university, yes it is possible to get to university without A levels and qualify for a university course. An Access to Higher Education (Access to HE) course is a flexible way of getting into university and suits those who are returning to education.

Is IEB better than NSC?

The biggest difference between the IEB and NSC is that the IEB focuses on preparing students for life abroad. Most people wonder which qualification between the IEB and NSC is better. This solely depends on your personal needs and what you as a student are capable of.

What is matric called in UK?

Bangladesh, like the rest of Indian sub-continent, still uses terms such as Matriculation Exams and Intermediate Exams taken from the days of the British Raj although in England itself these terms were replaced by ‘O’ or Ordinary Level Examinations (now called GCSEs) and ‘A’ or Advanced Level Examinations respectively.

Is Nat 5 harder than GCSE?

In broad terms, National 5 (N5) qualifications are the Scottish equivalent of the GCSE. The N5 is the more academically advanced of the qualifications, with candidates being awarded the qualification at grades A, B, C and D. Scottish National 5 certificates grade A to C are equivalent to GCSEs grade grade 4 to 9.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What is the capital of Africa country?

Is Grade 3 GCSE a pass?

GCSE grades 9 to 4 (A* to C) – Certificate and qualification awarded. At GCSE, considered a ‘good pass’, and awards a qualification at Level 2 of the RQF. GCSE grades 3 to 1 (D to G) – Certificate and qualification awarded.

Is a grade D at higher a pass?

A Grade C or above has been the official pass rate for years. Under the new guidelines, students who ‘fail’ the Higher with a D will be classed as having passed and receive the same credit as those achieving a C or above.

What is a level 7 GCSE?

Grade 7 is the equivalent of a grade A. Grade 6 is the equivalent of just above a grade B. Grade 5 is the equivalent of in between grades B and C. Grade 4 is the equivalent of a grade C. … Grade 1 is the equivalent of in between grades F and G.

Is Level 3 a GCSE?

first certificate. GCSE – grades 3, 2, 1 or grades D, E, F, G. level 1 award.

Can you do GCSE at any age?

GCSEs are the main qualification taken by 14 to 16-year-olds, but are available to anyone of any age. You can take GCSEs in a wide range of academic and ‘applied’ or work-related subjects at school or your local Further Education (FE) college.

Hai Afrika!