Frequent question: Who are the judiciary in Nigeria?

The Supreme Court is composed of the Chief Justice of Nigeria and such number of justices not more than 21, appointed by the President on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council, (NJC) and subject to confirmation by the Senate.

What is judicial system in Nigeria?

Judicial System of Nigeria

The Supreme Court is presided over by the chief justice and has up to 15 justices. … There is the Federal High Court and a high court in each of the 36 states. States are entitled to have a Sharia court of appeal and a customary court of appeal.

Who stands at the head of judiciary?

The subordinate court system is further classified into two: the civil court of which a Sub-Judge is the head followed by the munsif court at the lower level, and the criminal court headed by Chief Judicial/Metropolitan Magistrate at top and followed by ACJM /ACMM & JM/MM at the lower level.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do they have Amazon in Egypt?

What are the main component of Nigeria judicial system?

The Federal courts are: the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the Federal High Court. The State courts include: the High Court of a State, the Customary Court of Appeal of a State and the Sharia Court of Appeal of a State.

Who is the head of judicial arm of government?

(4) The Chief Justice shall, subject to this Constitution, be the Head of the Judiciary and shall be responsible for the administration and supervision of the Judiciary.

How many types of court do we have in Nigeria?

There are eight types of courts in Nigeria and each of them performs specific functions.

What are the 5 Sources of Nigeria law?

Below are the 5 major sources of Nigerian law:

Enactments made by the legislature. Customary/Islamic law. Nigerian case law. International law.

Which is better IAS or judiciary?

Judges have Judicial powers and IAS have executive powers. … Under the Central Govt and State Hierarchy: A District Judge is more superior than District Collector. A Chief Justice is much much more superior in hierarchy than a Chief Secretary.

How many types of judiciary are there?

The judicial system of India is mainly consisting of three types of courts- the Supreme Court, The High Courts and the subordinate courts.

What are the powers of judiciary?


First it can restore fundamental rights by issuing writs of Habeas Corpus; mandamus etc. (article 32). The High Courts also have the power to issue such writs (article 226). Secondly, the Supreme Court can declare the concerned law as unconstitutional and therefore non-operational (article 13).

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Which mountain is on the border of Kenya and Uganda?

Do judges make law in Nigeria?

Do Judges Make Law? The simple answer to this seemingly rhetorical question is No. … Admittedly, by the provision of section 4 of the 1999 Constitution, the function of law-making is vested in the legislature, while that of judicial adjudication is conferred on the courts by section 6 of the 1999 Constitution.

Who makes the law in Nigeria?

Legislative power is held by the federal government and the two chambers of the legislature: the House of Representatives and the Senate. Together, the two chambers make up the law-making body in Nigeria, called the National Assembly, which serves as a check on the executive arm of government.

When did the judicial system created in Nigeria?

Nigeria – Judicial system

Both the suspended 1979 constitution and the never implemented 1989 constitutions, as well as the new constitution promulgated on May 29, 1999 provide for an independent judiciary.

What is the difference between judiciary and legislature?

The role of a legislative branch within a government is to make laws. … The role of judiciary is to adjudicate disputes between parties in a legal setting by relaying on the laws that are passed by the legislative branch.

What is the judiciary made of?

The judiciary is the branch of government which administers justice according to law. The term is used to refer broadly to the courts, the judges, magistrates, adjudicators and other support personnel who run the system. The courts apply the law, and settle disputes and punish law-breakers according to the law.

What are three arms government?

Arms of government and their functions

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What caused the conflict between Ethiopia and Eritrea?

The Executive. The Judiciary. The Legislature.

Hai Afrika!