How many states does Kenya have?

Eight Provinces including the Nairobi area. Provinces are: Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern Province, Rift Valley, Western and North Eastern. These provinces are divided into administrative areas known as districts.

Does Kenya have states or provinces?

Kenya is divided into eight provinces, namely, Nairobi (the capital city), Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley and Western.

What are the states in Kenya?

List of cities and towns in Kenya

  • Eldoret.
  • Embu.
  • Garissa.
  • Kakamega.
  • Kisumu.
  • Lamu.
  • Meru.
  • Mombasa.


Is Kenya a city or a state?

Kenya, officially the Republic of Kenya (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Kenya), is a country in Eastern Africa. At 580,367 square kilometres (224,081 sq mi), Kenya is the world’s 48th largest country by total area. With a population of more than 47.6 million people in the 2019 census, Kenya is the 29th most populous country.

How many countries are in Kenya?

Counties of Kenya

Counties of Kenya Kaunti za Kenya (Swahili)
Location Republic of Kenya
Number 47 Counties
Populations 143,920 (Lamu) – 4,397,073 (Nairobi)
Areas 294.7 km2 (113.8 sq mi) (Mombasa) – 71,597.8 km2 (27,644.1 sq mi) (Turkana)
IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How much is an MRI in Morocco?

Which is the largest province in Kenya?

Rift Valley Province was the largest and one of the most economically important provinces in Kenya.

How many countries are in Central Kenya?

Central Province (Kenya)

Central Province Mkoa wa Kati
Country Kenya
No. of Counties: 5
Capital Nyeri

Which is the largest city in Kenya?

Nairobi is the capital and the largest city of Kenya.

How many cities are in Kenya now?

In Kenya there are only three incorporated cities including the capital and largest city, Nairobi, the second largest and the coastal city of Mombasa, and the third largest and inland port city of Kisumu.

Which is the largest town in Kenya?

Nairobi is the most populated city in Kenya.

Distribution of population in Kenya as of 2021, by city (in 1,000s)

Characteristic Number of inhabitants in thousands
Nairobi 2,750.5
Mombasa 799.7
Nakuru 259.9
Eldoret 218.4

What is Kenya famous for?

Kenya, country in East Africa famed for its scenic landscapes and vast wildlife preserves. Its Indian Ocean coast provided historically important ports by which goods from Arabian and Asian traders have entered the continent for many centuries.

What was Kenya called before?

The result is that by the 1920s there is a sizable Indian population to demand a share in the developing political life of Kenya. (By this time the name has been changed from the East Africa Protectorate to Kenya Colony, celebrating the region’s highest mountain.)

What makes Kenya unique?

Kenya has surpassed many other African countries simply because of its people. With a rich cultural diversity to ignite humanity, Kenyan people are multifaceted and friendly. … Consisting of different languages and ethnic groups – Kenyan people are diverse and their uniqueness is visibly abundant.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much is r450 in Naira?

Is Kenya a 3rd world country?

Yes, Kenya is a third world country. While the country has recently gotten lower-middle-income stature, not every Kenyan has benefited from the heightened wealth.

What country is similar to Kenya?

Kenya is a country in East Africa, bordering the Indian Ocean in south east, neighboring countries are Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Is Kenya dangerous?

Violent crime, such as armed carjacking, mugging, home invasion, and kidnapping, can occur at any time. Local police are willing but often lack the capability to respond effectively to serious criminal incidents and terrorist attacks. Emergency medical and fire service is also limited.

Hai Afrika!