Question: Who was the last British governor of Nigeria?

Sir James Wilson Robertson, KT, GCMG, GCVO, KBE, KStJ was a British civil servant who served as the last colonial governor-general of Nigeria from 1955 to 1960.

Who was the third British Governor General?

Bernard Henry Bourdillon

His Excellency Sir Bernard Henry Bourdillon GCMG KBE
Preceded by Herbert Stanley
Succeeded by Graeme Thomson
Personal details
Born 3 December 1883 Burnie, Tasmania

Who is the first British governor in Nigeria?

Governor-General of Nigeria, 1914–1919

Name Took office
Sir Frederick Lugard (1858–1945) 1 January 1914

Who was the colonial governor of Nigeria?

Nigeria’s Colonial Governor Generals (1912-1960)

Sir Fredrick Lord Lugard 1912 – 1919 First Governor General
Sir Bernard Boundilion 1935 – 1943 5th Governor General
Sir Anthony Richard 1943 – 1948 6th Governor General
Sir John Macpherson 1948 – 1958 7th Governor General
Sir James Robertson 1958 – 1960 8th Governor General

Who succeeded Hugh Clifford?

Hugh Clifford

His Excellency Sir Hugh Clifford GCMG GBE
Monarch George V
Preceded by Sir Frederick Lugard (Governor-General of Nigeria)
Succeeded by Sir Graeme Thomson
Governor of Gold Coast
IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: How many people are formally employed in Zimbabwe?

Who is known as Bengal tiger British?

Baghajatin, popularly known as Bengal Tiger, fell to British bullets on Sep 10, 1915, after his four-man army waged a courageous battle at Chasakhand. He continues to be an undying link between West Bengal and Orissa.

Who is the head of governors?

National Governors Association
Chair Andrew Cuomo (D-NY)
Vice Chair Asa Hutchinson (R-AR)
Executive Committee Charlie Baker (R-MA) Doug Ducey (R-AZ) Larry Hogan (R-MD) Kay Ivey (R-AL) Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM) Jared Polis (D-CO) Gretchen Whitmer (D-MI)
Founded 1908

Who is the first female governor in Nigeria?

Virginia Etiaba. Dame Virginia Ngozi Etiaba, CON (born 11 November 1942) was the Governor of Anambra State, a state in south-east Nigeria, from November 2006 to February 2007. She is the first female governor in Nigeria’s history.

Who is the father of indirect rule?

Frederick Lugard, who assumed the position of high commissioner of the Protectorate of Northern Nigeria in 1900, often has been regarded as the model British colonial administrator.

Who gave the name Nigeria?

The name “Nigeria” was coined by the future Lady Lugard in an 1897 London Times article. With Lord Lugard’s arbitrary conception of Nigeria in mind, one can begin to see the many and varied problems colonialism created in Nigeria, across West Africa, and around the world.

Who is the first general in Nigeria?

Major General Johnson Thomas Umunnakwe Aguiyi-Ironsi MVO, MBE (3 March 1924 – 29 July 1966) was the first Military Head of State of Nigeria.

Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi.

Major General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi MVO, MBE
Preceded by Nnamdi Azikiwe
Succeeded by Yakubu Gowon
General Officer Commanding, Nigerian Army
In office 1965 – January 1966
IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What political system is Egypt?

Who is the first governor general?

In accordance with the provisions of the Regulating Act of 1773, Warren Hastings became the first governor-general.

Who is first governor of Lagos State?

In May 1967, Lagos State was created and Johnson became the first governor of Lagos; the state was now composed of the old Federal Territory of Victoria Island, Ikoyi and Lagos Island plus the additions of the Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu and Ikeja divisions.

Who is the last governor?

Governor-General of India

Viceroy and Governor-General of India
First holder Warren Hastings
Final holder Lord Mountbatten (February 1947 – August 1947 as Viceroy of India) Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari (1948–1950 as Governor-general of Dominion of India)
Abolished 26 January 1950
Succession President of India

What is Clifford Constitution?

In 1922 a new constitution (known as the Clifford Constitution after Governor Hugh Clifford) was promulgated, which introduced four elected seats to the Legislative Council, three for Lagos and one for Calabar.

What is elective principle in Nigeria?

This right, termed the elective principle, emphasized that 4 of the 36 members of the Legislative Council must be elected by the native population. … Though elections took place in 1923, 1928, 1933, 1938, 1947,1954, and 1959, under British colonial rule, suffrage was only extended to northern Nigerians in 1947.

Hai Afrika!