Quick Answer: How many count in Kenya?

Counties of Kenya Kaunti za Kenya (Swahili)
Category Semi-Devolved State
Location Republic of Kenya
Number 47 Counties
Populations 143,920 (Lamu) – 4,397,073 (Nairobi)

How many Subcounties are there in Kenya?

Figure1: The map of Kenya showing 47 counties (colored) and 295 sub-counties (numbered).

How many states are in Kenya?

Kenya is divided into eight provinces, namely, Nairobi (the capital city), Central, Coast, Eastern, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley and Western.

Which is the richest country in Kenya?

List of counties by GDP per capita

Rank County Equivalent country
1 Nyandarua County Laos
2 Elgeyo-Marakwet County Samoa
3 Nairobi County Myanmar
4 Mombasa County Pakistan

How many districts are in Kenya?

Kenya is divided into provinces, which are subdivided into districts. The table below shows the districts of Kenya as of ~2005, from sources [5] and [6].

Districts of Kenya.

District Garissa
Cod 501
Population 329,939
Area(km.²) 44,952
Capital Garissa

How Nairobi is divided?

Nairobi is divided into a series of constituencies with each being represented by members of Parliament in the National Assembly. … The main administrative divisions of Nairobi are Central, Dagoretti, Embakasi, Kasarani, Kibera, Makadara, Pumwani, and Westlands.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where is almond grown in Kenya?

Which constituency has the largest population in Kenya?

The population of Nairobi as of 2020

Well, the figure, according to KNBS, is 4,397,073 people. Apart from it being the most populated city in Kenya, it is also the most populous county in the country. The results mean that the population of the country has grown by more than four times since independence.

Is Kenya a poor country?

Kenya is a lower-middle income economy. Although Kenya’s economy is the largest and most developed in eastern and central Africa, 36.1% (2015/2016) of its population lives below the international poverty line. This severe poverty is mainly caused by economic inequality, government corruption and health problems.

What is Kenya famous for?

Kenya, country in East Africa famed for its scenic landscapes and vast wildlife preserves. Its Indian Ocean coast provided historically important ports by which goods from Arabian and Asian traders have entered the continent for many centuries.

Is Kenya an Arab country?

Kenya, officially the Republic of Kenya (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Kenya), is a country in Eastern Africa. At 580,367 square kilometres (224,081 sq mi), Kenya is the world’s 48th largest country by total area.


Republic of Kenya Jamhuri ya Kenya (Swahili)
Official languages English Swahili
National language Swahili

Who is the richest man in Kenya?


Rank in Kenya Name Net worth (USD)
1 Bhimji Depar Shah and family 0.7 Billion
2 Narendra Raval 0.4 Billion
3 Naushad Merali 0.37 Billion

What are the 3 poorest countries in Africa?

The ten poorest countries in Africa, with their GDP per capita, are:

  • Somalia ($500)
  • Central African Republic ($681)
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo ($785)
  • Burundi ($808)
  • Liberia ($867)
  • Niger ($1,153)
  • Malawi ($1,172)
  • Mozambique ($1,266)
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you make Nigerian spices?

Is Pakistan richer than Kenya?

Kenya has a GDP per capita of $3,500 as of 2017, while in Pakistan, the GDP per capita is $5,400 as of 2017.

Which county is largest in Kenya?

Largest counties in Kenya by size

  1. Turkana. Turkana is the largest county in Kenya in size with approximate geographical extent coverage of 68,680.3 square kilometers. …
  2. Marsabit. The second-largest county in terms of geographical size is Marsabit. …
  3. Wajir. In 3rd is Wajir situated in the North-Eastern part of Kenya. …
  4. Garissa. …
  5. Tana River. …
  6. Isiolo. …
  7. Kitui. …
  8. Kajiado.


Which is the largest province in Kenya?

Rift Valley Province was the largest and one of the most economically important provinces in Kenya.

Are there states in Kenya?

Kenya provinces (Central, Coast, Eastern, Nairobi, North Eastern,…

Hai Afrika!