Quick Answer: What are the agencies of curriculum development in Nigeria?

The Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC) is the government agency responsible for the development of curriculum for all the four levels of education in Nigeria.

Who are the agencies of curriculum planning and innovation in Nigeria?

Key agencies concerned with education include the National Universities Commission, the National Teachers Institute, the Nigerian Mathematical Centre, the National Primary Education Commission, the National Examinations Council of Nigeria, the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, the National Curriculum Development …

What are the agents of curriculum implementation?

The learner is therefore the central figure in the curriculum implementation process. Although there are various factors that also influence Curriculum Implementation like the resource materials and facilities, the teacher, the school environment, culture and ideology, Instructional supervision and assessment.

What are the roles of educational agencies in Nigeria?

Functions of educational agencies in Nigeria

  • To approve every academic programme in universities and college.
  • To approve the establishment colleges and universities and their educational plans.
  • To make sure that each academic curriculum a Nigerian student takes is of high quality.
IT IS INTERESTING:  When was the first cell phone in Zimbabwe?


What are the teachers education agencies in Nigeria?

The educational bodies and agencies include the following:  National Universities Commission (NUC)  National Teachers’ Institute (NTI)  Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC)  The West African Examinations Council (WAEC)  Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB)  Federal Ministry of …

What are the five curriculum development agencies in Nigeria?

Curriculum Agency

ECCDE NERDC Basic Education NERDC Upper Basic NERDC Colleges of Education NCCE Polytechnics NBTE Universities NUC Fig 6 levels of education and their co-coordinating curriculum agencies.

What is the full meaning of Ncce in Nigeria?

National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE) is the regulator of Nigerian colleges of education. It formulates National Policy framework for the full development of teacher education and training of teachers.

What are the 7 stages of curriculum development?


  • (1) Identify Issue/Problem/Need. …
  • (2) Form Curriculum Development Team. …
  • (3) Conduct Needs Assessment and Analysis. …
  • (4) State Intended Outcomes. …
  • (5) Select Content. …
  • (6) Design Experiential Methods. …
  • (7) Produce Curriculum Product. …
  • (8) Test and Revise Curriculum.

What are the 3 types of curriculum?

Curriculum is defined: planned learning experiences with intended outcomes while recognizing the importance of possible unintended outcomes. There are three types of curriculum: (1) explicit (stated curriculum), (2) hidden (unofficial curriculum), and (3) absent or null ( excluded curriculum).

What are the role of teachers in curriculum implementation?

With their knowledge , experience and competencies teachers are central to any curriculum improvement effort, they are responsible for introducing the curriculum in the classroom and outside the classroom as well. … In order to create strong curriculum teachers must play an integral role in every step of the process.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: How long does it take from Miami to Egypt?

What are the main agencies that influence education?

At the national level, the agencies are, University Grants Commission (UGC), National Institute of Educational Planning and Administration (NIEPA/NUEPA), National Council of Teacher Education (NCTE) and National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT).

Who is the current minister of education in Nigeria?

Mallam Adamu Adamu (born 25 May 1954) is a Nigerian accountant and journalist who is currently serving as the Minister of Education.

What are the three curriculum design models?

There are three models of curriculum design: subject-centered, learner-centered, and problem-centered design.

What is a lesson plan in teaching?

A lesson plan is a teacher’s guide for facilitating a lesson. It typically includes the goal (what students need to learn), how the goal will be achieved (the method of delivery and procedure) and a way to measure how well the goal was reached (usually via homework assignments or testing).

How many types of education agencies are there?

So the agencies of education are called the chief communicating agents between individual and the goal of education. According, to the role, educational agencies are two types- Active and Passive and according to their form they are of three types i.e. formal, informal and non-formal.

What are the different agencies of education?

Such agencies include school, college, university, library, religious institution, the recreation club, the museum, picture and art galleries, zoo, etc. Informal agencies are those institutions which exercise a great educative influence upon the individuals indirectly and ceaselessly throughout their life.

Hai Afrika!