What are the newly created districts in Ghana?

How many districts are in Ghana as at 2020?

The Districts of Ghana are second-level administrative subdivisions of Ghana, below the level of region. There are 260 districts.

What are the newly created region in Ghana?

Northern split into Northern, North East and Savannah; Volta split into Volta and Oti; Western split into Western and Western North; Brong-Ahafo split into Bono, Ahafo and Bono East.

What are the 16 regions?


  • Greater Accra Region – Accra.
  • Central Region – Cape Coast.
  • Eastern Region – Koforidua.
  • Western Region – Sekondi Takoradi.
  • Ashanti Region – Kumasi.
  • Northern Region – Tamale.
  • Upper East Region – Bolgatanga.
  • Upper West – Wa.

Why was the Ahafo Region created?

The region had administrative and governmental legislature like all the ten already existing regions in Ghana. The region was carved out of the south-eastern part of the Brong Ahafo Region and was in fulfillment of a campaign promise made by New Patriotic Party.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who is the current CDS in Ghana?

How many regions does Ghana have in 2020?

The regions of Ghana constitute the first level of subnational government administration within the Republic of Ghana. As of 2020, there are currently sixteen regions, which are further divided for administrative purposes into 260 local district assemblies.

How is Ghana divided?

The administrative divisions of the Republic of Ghana consist of four geographic terrestrial plains and 16 regions. For local government, there are a total of 216 districts including 145 ordinary districts, 109 municipal districts, and six metropolitan districts. … Electorally, Ghana is divided into 275 constituencies.

Which region is the smallest in Ghana?

The Greater Accra Region has the smallest area of Ghana’s 16 administrative regions, occupying a total land surface of 3,245 square kilometres.

What is the biggest region in Ghana?

List of Ghanaian regions by area

Rank Region km2
1 Northern 70,765
2 Ashanti 24,869
3 Western 23,941
4 Volta 20,570

How many states do we have in Ghana?

There are 16 states in Ghana, but if you call them states in Ghana, no-body is going to know what you are talking about because, in Ghana, they are called regions.

When did Ghana get 16 regions?

The creation of all the 16 regions in Ghana and their capitals has brought the end of the many petitions which go as far back as 1954. This came to be on Tuesday, February 12, 2019, under president Akufo-Addo administration.

What is the 17 regions in the Philippines?

Table of regions

Region (regional designation) PSGC Island group
Mimaropa (Southwestern Tagalog Region) 17 Luzon
Bicol Region (Region V) 05 Luzon
Western Visayas (Region VI) 06 Visayas
Central Visayas (Region VII) 07 Visayas
IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the effects of colonization in Egypt?

Is Accra bigger than Kumasi?

Accra is Ghana’s largest city and the nation’s capital.

The Biggest Cities In Ghana.

Rank Biggest Cities in Ghana Population
1 Accra 2,291,352
2 Kumasi 2,069,350
3 Sekondi-Takoradi 445,205
4 Sunyani 248,496

Which district is kenyasi in Ahafo Region?

Kenyasi is a town in Ghana. It is the capital of the Asutifi District in the Ahafo Region.

Which region was created from Ashanti region in 1958?

Brong-Ahafo was created on 14 April 1959 from the then Western Ashanti and named after the dominant and native inhabitants, Akans, Brong and Ahafo.

What is the population of Ahafo Region?


Name Status Population Census 2010-09-26
Ahafo (← Brong Ahafo) Region 484,210
Ahafo (← Brong Ahafo) 613,049 Population [2020] – Projection 5,193 km² Area 118.1/km² Population Density [2020] 2.4% Annual Population Change [2010 → 2020]
Asunafo North Municipal Municipal District 124,685
Asunafo South District 95,580
Hai Afrika!