What are the sources of Nigerian Law of Evidence?

What are the Sources of Evidence Law? The sources of evidence in Nigeria are: the Constitution, the Evidence Act, Case law, Customary law and to a lesser extent, the Received English law.

What are the sources of evidence law?

The three sources of evidence law are common law (prior appellate cases), the Rules of Evidence (enacted by the Supreme Court in the jurisdiction where the case is pending), and the statutes (enacted by the legislature in the jurisdiction where the case is pending).

What are the 5 Sources of Nigeria law?

Below are the 5 major sources of Nigerian law:

Enactments made by the legislature. Customary/Islamic law. Nigerian case law. International law.

What are the 5 main sources of law?

The primary sources of law in the United States are the United States Constitution, state constitutions, federal and state statutes, common law, case law, and administrative law.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How close is Ethiopia to Dubai?

Which of the following is a source of Nigerian law?

There are different sources of law in Nigeria, they include the Received English laws, Nigerian legislations, Case laws, Customary laws and Islamic laws.

What are the 4 types of evidence?

Generally speaking, there are four main kinds of evidence. These are testimonial, documentary, demonstrative, and what’s called real evidence.

What are the five rules of evidence?

These five rules are—admissible, authentic, complete, reliable, and believable.

What are the 7 types of law?

Terms in this set (7)

  • The Constitution. supreme body of laws that govern our country.
  • Statutory law. written or codified law such as legislative acts, declaring, commanding, or prohibiting something.
  • Common or Case Law. …
  • Civil Law (Private law) …
  • Criminal Law. …
  • Equity Law. …
  • Administrative Law.

What are the classification of law in Nigeria?

Criminal Law and Civil Law. Substantive Law and Procedural Law. Municipal Law and International Law. Common Law and equity.

There are generally considered to be five legal systems in the world today: civil law, common law, customary law, religious law, and mixed legal systems.

What are the two main sources of law?

We often speak of two broad sources of law: statute law (the law made by the Commonwealth, State and Territory Parliaments) and common law (for present purposes, the law made by judges in the exercise of both common law and equitable jurisdiction1). These sources of law do not exist independently of each other.

What are the major sources of law?

Primary sources of law are constitutions, statutes, regulations, and cases. Lawmaking powers are divided among three branches of government: executive; legislative; and judicial. These three branches of government, whether federal or state, create primary sources of law.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What does EFE mean in Nigerian?

What are main sources of law?

Main sources of law

  • The Nigerian Constitution.
  • Legislation (Ordinances, Acts, laws, decrees, edicts and bye-laws).
  • Judicial precedents.
  • Customary law.
  • Islamic law.
  • Received English law (common law, equitable doctrines and statutes of general application that were in force in England on 1 January 1900).


What are the 4 sources of law?

The four primary sources are constitutions, statutes, cases, and regulations. These laws and rules are issued by official bodies from the three branches of government.

What are the characteristics of Nigerian legal system?

Below are the characteristics of the Nigerian Legal System:

  • Duality.
  • Judicial Precedent.
  • Hierarchy of courts.
  • Fusion of legal profession.
  • External influence.
  • Accusatorial.
  • Military influence.

What are the secondary sources of law in Nigeria?

The secondary sources of Nigerian law comprise of law reports, textbooks, legal periodicals, law digests, legal dictionaries and newspapers, among others.

Hai Afrika!