What is the meaning of Nigerian legal system?

The Constitution of Nigeria is the supreme law of the country. There are four distinct legal systems in Nigeria, which include English law, Common law, Customary law, and Sharia Law. English law in Nigeria is derived from the colonial Nigeria, while common law is a development from its post colonial independence.

legal system in British English

(ˈliːɡəl ˈsɪstəm) law. the set of laws of a country and the ways in which they are interpreted and enforced.

Nigeria is made up of several ethnic groups each with its own variety of customary law. Customary law is a system of law that reflects the culture, customs, values and habits of the people whose activities it regulates. It has been described as a mirror of accepted usage.

Below are the characteristics of the Nigerian Legal System:

  • Duality.
  • Judicial Precedent.
  • Hierarchy of courts.
  • Fusion of legal profession.
  • External influence.
  • Accusatorial.
  • Military influence.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Why did Israel invade Egypt in 1956?

What is the nature and character of Nigeria legal system?

Therefore the legal system of Nigeria must contain the above four elements. The Nigerian legal system consist of the combination the common law doctrine, equity, statutes of general application, customary law and Islamic law etc.

In a nation, the law can serve to (1) keep the peace, (2) maintain the status quo, (3) preserve individual rights, (4) protect minorities against majorities, (5) promote social justice, and (6) provide for orderly social change. Some legal systems serve these purposes better than others.

The purpose of a legal system, generally, is to establish the rules of a given society and the rights of the people who make up that society.

Which is the lowest court in Nigeria?

The lowest courts in the country are all state courts (there is no federal court in this group). They include (i) the Magistrate Courts that handle English law cases (ii) the Customary Courts that handle Customary law cases and (iii) the Sharia Courts that handle Sharia law cases.

What are the 5 Sources of Nigeria law?

Below are the 5 major sources of Nigerian law:

Enactments made by the legislature. Customary/Islamic law. Nigerian case law. International law.

What is Nigerian English law?

The English law is made up of rules of common law, doctrines of equity and Statutes of General Application. These English laws have been imported into the Nigerian legal system. … The use of English Law in Nigeria is backed up by the following authorities: Interpretation Act:By the provision of S.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: How do people greet in Zambia?

Do judges make law in Nigeria?

Do Judges Make Law? The simple answer to this seemingly rhetorical question is No. … Admittedly, by the provision of section 4 of the 1999 Constitution, the function of law-making is vested in the legislature, while that of judicial adjudication is conferred on the courts by section 6 of the 1999 Constitution.

What are the 5 sources of law?

The primary sources of law in the United States are the United States Constitution, state constitutions, federal and state statutes, common law, case law, and administrative law.

What are the types of court in Nigeria?

Nigerian courts

  • Supreme Court of Nigeria. The Supreme Court is the most powerful court among state courts. …
  • Court of Appeal. …
  • Federal High Court. …
  • State High Court. …
  • National Industrial Court. …
  • Sharia Court of Appeal. …
  • Customary Court of Appeal. …
  • Magistrate Court (District Court)


What are the 7 types of law?

Terms in this set (7)

  • The Constitution. supreme body of laws that govern our country.
  • Statutory law. written or codified law such as legislative acts, declaring, commanding, or prohibiting something.
  • Common or Case Law. …
  • Civil Law (Private law) …
  • Criminal Law. …
  • Equity Law. …
  • Administrative Law.

What are the types of lawyers in Nigeria?

Some other areas of law which the different types of lawyers in Nigeria are increasing specializing in include – Intellectual Property and Technology matters, Estate and Probate matters, and Media and Entertainment matters.

There are generally considered to be five legal systems in the world today: civil law, common law, customary law, religious law, and mixed legal systems.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the money used in Egypt?
Hai Afrika!