Where is Gwari in Nigeria?

Gbagyi or Gwari (also spelled Gbari) are peaceful, agriculturalist, artistic and Nupoid-speaking people living in North-Central geo-political zone of Nigeria. They predominantly live in the Niger, Kaduna States and the Federal Capital Territory. They are also found in Nasarawa and Kogi States in central Nigerian Area.

Where is gwari?

Gwari is a Nupoid language spoken by the Gbagyi people, which make up over a million people in Nigeria.

Gwari language.

Native to Nigeria.
Region Abuja, Kaduna State, Niger State, and Nasarawa State.
Ethnicity Gbagyi people
Native speakers (700,000 Gbagyi cited 1991) 350,000 Gbari (2002)

What is the occupation of gbagyi people?

Gbagyi/Gbari is the most populated ethnic and indigenous group in the middle belt and Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria and their major occupation is farming. Pottery is also an occupation practiced by the women.

What is the history of gbagyi?

Gbagyi is the most populated ethnic and indigenous group in the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria and their major occupation is farming. Historically, the Gbayi practice a patrilineal kinship system. … Significant Gbagyi towns include Minna, Kwakuti, Kwali, Wushapa (Ushafa), Bwaya (Bwari), Suleja and Paiko.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Who built the Giza pyramids in Egypt?

What is the meaning of gbagyi?

Gbagyi or Gbari are the two dialects of an ethnic group found in central Nigeria. They are most often called Gwari which is a derogatory term that was used by the Hausa Fulani rulers of pre-colonial Nigeria. They predominantly live in the Niger, Kaduna, States and the Federal Capital Territory.

What are the ten ethnic group in Nigeria?

List of ethnic groups in Nigeria

  • Hausa (21%)
  • Yoruba (23%)
  • fulani (3%)
  • igbo (20%)
  • Ibibio (2.8%)
  • Tiv (2.2%)
  • Ijaw (5%)
  • Kanuri (1.7%)

What is the population of gbagyi in Nigeria?

Gbagyi or AGbari (plural – Agbagyi/Agbari) is the name and the language of Gbagyi/Gbari ethnic group who are predominantly found in Central Nigeria, with a population of about 5 million people.

Where did gbagyi migrated from?

It has been claimed that the Gbagyi migrated from Borno into the Abuja region (Thurley, 1931) due to conflict with the Kanuri. Additionally, Gbagyi familiarity with the lapis lazuli stone has been taken in some quarters as indication of Egyptian origin.

Where is Nupe located in Nigeria?

Nupe, people living near the confluence of the Niger and Kaduna rivers in west-central Nigeria. They speak a language of the Nupoid group in the Benue-Congo branch of the Niger-Congo language family.

How do you say good morning in gbagyi?


  1. Ha gyi fe… – good morning.
  2. Ha vewi… – good afternoon; same thing. as good evening.
  3. Fe wa gya… – good night; it is common.


Who are the origin of Abuja?

The land now called Abuja was originally the south-western part of the ancient Habe (Hausa) kingdom of Zazzau (Zaria). It was populated fore centuries by several semi-independent tribes. The largest of the tribes was Gbagyi (Gwari), followed by the Koro and a few other smaller tribes.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How many hours is Emirates to Dubai from Ghana?

Who are the indigenous of Abuja?

The peoples of Abuja are minority ethnic groups in Nigeria and are predominantly members of the Gbagyi ethnic group but also there are the Koro, Gade, Bassa, Igbira, Amwamwa, Ajari Afo and Gwandara.

How many ethics group do we have in Nigeria?

Nigeria is truly a fascinating country with 36 States and a Federal capital territory.


Hausa Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Kano, Katsina, Plateau,Taraba,Niger, Kaduna, Sokoto,Kebbi,Zamfara,Yobe,Jigawa,Gombe 25%

What is I love you in Nigerian language?

“Mo ni fe re” is Yoruba for “I love you” and literally translates to “I have your love.” Yoruba language needs little introduction as it is one of the 4 official languages of Nigeria.

How many tribes do we have in Abuja?

The 9 indigenous tribes in the FCT are Amwamwa, Bassa, Egbira, Gade, Ganagana, Gbagyi, Gbari, Gwandara and Koro.

What are the names of God in different Nigerian languages?

Names of God in Hausa

  • Ubangiji – It means the Supreme Being.
  • Sariki n Salama – It means Prince of Peace.
  • Ubanjidi n Dunia – It means Master of the World.
  • Mai Taimako – It means the Helper.
  • Ruhun Hikima – It means Spirit of Wisdom.
  • Allah Mai Iko – It means Powerful God.
  • Allah Mai Girma – It means Great God.


Hai Afrika!