Who is the present INEC chairman in Nigeria?

Mahmood Yakubu (born 1962) is a Nigerian academic and current chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Who is the former INEC Chairman?

Jega is the only INEC chairman to oversee two Nigerian General Elections (2011 and 2015). Jega retired on 30 June 2015, handing over his position to Amina Zakari according to a directive by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Who is the first INEC chairman in Nigeria?

Leadership. The Chairman of the first Nigerian Federal Electoral Commission was Chief Eyo Esua (1964–1966) in the First Republic.

When was INEC established?


Who was INEC chairman in 1993?

Professor Humphrey Nwosu (born 2 October 1941) was chairman of the National Electoral Commission (NEC) appointed by President Ibrahim Babangida, holding office from 1989 to 1993.

Humphrey Nwosu
In office 1989–1993
Preceded by Eme Awa
Succeeded by Okon Uya
Personal details

What is the name of the electoral commission in Nigeria?

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was established by the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to among other things organize elections into various political offices in the country. Nigeria.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: How much is a gram of gold in Morocco?

Who is the INEC Commissioner?

Muhammad Kudu Haruna (22 September 1951) is a Nigeria journalist, political columnist, administrator and Resident Electoral Commissioner of the INEC since 2015. He is among the six members appointed as INEC commissioner, he is committing the Kwara, Kogi and Kaduna State.

Who is the current chairman Electoral Commission?

On 18 November 2016, Justice Simon Byabakama was named as Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Uganda, replacing Engineer Badru Kiggundu, whose 14-year, two-term reign had ended.

What is the first political party in Nigeria?

The Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) was Nigeria’s first political party. Formed in 1923 by Herbert Macaulay to take advantage of the new Clifford Constitution, which succeeded the 1914 Nigerian Council.

How is election conducted in Nigeria?

Nigerians elects on the federal level a head of state (the President of Nigeria) and a legislature (the National Assembly). The president is elected by the people. The National Assembly has two chambers. The House of Representatives has 360 members, elected for a four-year term in single-seat constituencies.

When was NEC established in Nigeria?

The National Economic Council (NEC) was established by the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended; Section 153(1) and Paragraphs 18 & 19 of Part I of the Third Schedule. The National Economic Council was inaugurated by President Muhammadu Buhari on 29 June 2015.

What year was the first election conducted in Nigeria?

General elections were held in Nigeria for the first time on 20 September 1923. The Nigerian National Democratic Party (NNDP) won three of the four elected seats in the Legislative Council.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Does Rosetta Stone have Yoruba?

Who was the first chairman of Fedeco?

Michael Ani (30 November 1917 – 18 December 1985) was chairman of the Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO) established by General Olusegun Obasanjo to conduct elections leading to the Nigerian Second Republic, which was inaugurated on 1 October 1979. He held office from 1976 to 1979.

What is Option A4?

In modern times, the open ballot, also known as Option A4, was first adopted in the Third Nigerian Republic during the 1993 Nigerian presidential election, an election widely considered by Nigerians as the freest and fairest in the country’s political history.

Who conducted the June 12 1993 election?

The unofficial result of the election – though not declared by the National Electoral Commission (NEC) – indicated a victory for Moshood Kashimawo Olawale Abiola of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who defeated Bashir Tofa of the National Republican Convention (NRC).

Hai Afrika!