Your question: What are three famous cities in Egypt?

What is the major city in Egypt?


How many cities are in Egypt?

Egyptian Cities, Towns and Governorates. When most people think about towns and cities in Egypt, the main ones that come to mind are the major cities or the ones with popular tourist attractions, but there are more than 200 towns and cities with a population of over 15,000 in Egypt.

How many main cities are in Egypt?

Egypt has 3 cities with more than a million people, 35 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 86 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people. The largest city in Egypt is Cairo, with a population of 7,734,614 people.


Name 2021 Population
Luxor 422,407
Asyut 420,585
Al Mansurah 420,195
Tanda 404,901

What were the major cities in ancient Egypt?

The largest and most important cities in Ancient Egypt were the capital cities. The capital city moved over the course of time. The first capital city was Thinis. Some of the later capitals include Memphis, Thebes, Avaris, Akhetaten, Tanis, Sais, and Alexandria.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Does mukuru send money to Ghana?

What cities is Egypt known for?

Egypt’s Main Cities

  • Cairo. Cairo is the capital of Egypt and its most important city, and with almost 20 million inhabitants, it’s also one of the world’s largest cities.
  • Aswan. …
  • Luxor. …
  • Alexandria. …
  • Sharm El Sheikh. …
  • Hurghada.

Which city is close to Egypt?


Closest Cities KM
Giza, Egypt 4
Helwan, Egypt 24
Kalyoubia, Egypt 32
6th of October City, Egypt 33

What is the richest city in Egypt?

If u mean the most expensive city then it’s sharm elsheikh. If u mean the city of rich people then the 5th settlement in cairo is the answer or any city containing compounds in it gather wealthy people.

Is there a city called Egypt?

Egypt is a town in Craighead County, Arkansas, United States.

What is the biggest state in Egypt?

The 29 Governorates

  • New Valley. Area: 145,369 square miles (376,505 sq km) …
  • Matruh. Area: 81,897 square miles (212,112 sq km) …
  • Red Sea. Area: 78,643 square miles (203,685 sq km) …
  • Giza. Area: 32,878 square miles (85,153 sq km) …
  • South Sinai. Area: 12,795 square miles (33,140 sq km) …
  • North Sinai. …
  • Suez. …
  • Beheira.


What are the 3 biggest cities in Egypt?

Egypt – 10 Largest Cities

Name Population
1 Cairo , Cairo 7,734,614
2 Alexandria , Alexandria 3,811,516
3 Giza , Giza 2,443,203
4 Port Said , Port Said 538,378

How many states are in Egypt?

Provincial divisions. Egypt is divided into 27 governorates (muhāfazāt) and each has a capital and at least one city. Each governorate is administered by a governor, who is appointed by the President of Egypt and serves at the president’s discretion.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much does it cost to transfer a vehicle in Kenya?

How many districts does Egypt have?

For administrative purposes, Egypt is divided into twenty-seven governorates (محافظة muḥāfaẓah; Egyptian Arabic pronunciation: [moˈħɑfzˤɑ]; genitive case: muḥāfaẓat [moˈħɑfzˤet]; plural: محافظات muḥāfaẓāt [moħɑfˈzˤɑːt]).

What was the first city in Egypt?

The oldest city in Egypt and one of the oldest in Africa, Faiyum was founded around 4,000 B.C. Located approximately 62 miles southwest of Cairo, Faiyum is partly located in an area that was once the ancient city of Crocodilopolis, whose inhabitants worshipped a sacred crocodile named Petsuchos who had its own temple …

What 4 cities are in Lower Egypt?

Lower Egypt (Arabic: دلتا مصر‎ delta màSr) is an extensive region of Egypt containing the Nile Delta, Cairo, Alexandria, and the pyramid fields near Cairo. In ancient times, Lower Egypt was known as Ta-mehu which means Land of Papyrus.

What is the modern capital of Egypt?


Hai Afrika!