Tanzania Confirms Hosting the 2015 Kagame Cup

Share the Story

The prestigious Council of East and Central Africa Football Association’s club championships, the CECAFA Kagame Cup, has found a new host for 2015!


Photo Credit - africatopsports.com

Photo Credit – africatopsports.com


According to Bin Zubeiry, a Tanzanian top football website, one of the largest East African nations, Tanzania through her football federation (T.F.F), has confirmed it shall host this years championships in her coastal city of Dar Es Salaam between the 11th of July to August 2nd, 2015.

Named after its patron, the current Rwandan President, General Paul Kagame, the tournament which brings together all club champions from the East African region, was in 2014 staged in the region’s cleanest hilly capital of Kigali, Rwanda. It is viewed by millions across East Africa on pay TV platform offered by the official broadcast partner, Supersport, a South African group of television channels owned by Multichoice that provides sports content in South Africa and abroad.

The 2014 tournament did not only witness an unexpected huge turnout from start to the end, but also yielded into a mouthwatering final duel between the currently on form Sudanese champions Al Merreikh Omdurman and Rwanda’s army side, Armée patriotique Rwandaise, also known as APR.


Rwanda hosting the 2014 Club Championship

Rwanda hosting the 2014 Club Championship


Although Al-merrikh lifted the 2014 trophy, defending it will be a toll order with the expected tough rivalry this year from the likes of; APR of Rwanda, Gor Mahia FC from Kenya, and Tanzania’s current champions in Dar Young Africans also known as “Yanga ” with their massive home support.

Tanzania has a rich history in as far as the hosting and competing in the 48 years old tournament is concerned with one of her clubs Simba sports club ranked among the most successful clubs in the tournament’s history with six titles with Kenyan sides of Gor Mahia, AFC Leopards and Al-Merrikh of Sudan among the dominant sides in the tournament over the years. Tanzania’s Dar Young Africans, “Yanga” won the last CECAFA Kagame cup hosted by the Tanzania Football Federation in 2012.


Express FC won the 2011-2012 league guarantying their slot in 2013 Kagame Cup. Photo credit - urafc.co.ug

Express FC won the 2011-2012 league guarantying their slot in 2013 Kagame Cup. Photo credit – urafc.co.ug